I always have fun playing along with Saturday Night Genealogy Fun from Genea-Musings! You can check out his prompts on his blog and join in on the fun!

The prompt for May 23rd: http://www.geneamusings.com/2015/05/saturday-night-genealogy-fun-your_23.html

This week’s prompt is to create a map of where you have been using the defocus blog website. Color coding indicates much you have seen of each state:

Red for states where you’ve not spent much time or seen very much.
Amber for states where you’ve at least slept and seen some sights.
Blue for states you’ve spent a lot of time in or seen a fair amount of.
Green for states you’ve spent a great deal of time in on multiple visits.

Where I have been:

Here is my map of the United States (I haven’t visited any Canadian provinces, unfortunately!)

US Map

I have lived in Ohio and recently Indiana. I might not have seen a ton of Indiana but I feel like it deserves green because I live there! I have many relatives in Pennsylvania and Florida in addition to several trips. Blue states I have been to on several trips. Orange states I have probably taken a trip to one or two cities there. Red states I have either driven through on the way elsewhere or I have flown into them to watch a hockey game and never seen anything other than the hotel and the ice rink.

Where my great-great-grandparents lived:

This map represents where my 16 great-great-grandparents lived at the time they married.

Red for states/provinces where one ancestor was born but none were married.
Amber for states/provinces where 2 resided at marriage.
Blue for states/provinces where 4 resided at marriage.
Green for states/provinces where 6 resided at marriage.

Ancestor Map

Most of my dad’s side of the family comes from Ohio with my great-grandmother’s parents also coming from Illinois. My maternal grandmother’s family is entirely from Pennsylvania and my maternal grandfather’s family is entirely from New Jersey. Both had ancestors in the state for generations before they both met and married. I also thought it was interesting to note that only three out of the 16 were born in a different state than they married in, so I tried to represent that in the red states.

