Fearless Females: March 6

The Accidental Genealogist is running her annual “Fearless Females” month of March. I’m so happy to be joining in, although admittedly a little late. I will attempt to catch up before the end of the month. If you want to see her blog and prompts you can look here: http://www.theaccidentalgenealogist.com/2015/02/back-for-sixth-year-fearless-females.html

The prompt for March 6:

“Describe an heirloom you may have inherited from a female ancestor (wedding ring or other jewelry, china, clothing, etc.) If you don’t have any, then write about a specific object you remember from your mother or grandmother, or aunt (a scarf, a hat, cooking utensil, furniture, etc.)”

Peggys chinaAside from boxes and boxes of genealogy material, there are a few items I have received from my maternal grandmother, Peggy Straughen. My grandmother was an avid quilter and she agreed to make a bed quilt for me. We spent a long time agreeing on a blue, ivory and yellow color scheme and I chose a pattern myself. We shopped together for months to find the perfect fabrics. It turned out to be the last quilt my grandmother made before she died and I feel so blessed to have a handmade gift from her.

I also have a set of her china. I love the gorgeous blue and silver pattern. She had two sets of china and insisted on using them instead of keeping them hidden away in a cabinet, but the set I have is still in great shape. I hope I have an opportunity to put it to use too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

