The Accidental Genealogist is running her annual “Fearless Females” month of March. I’m so happy to be joining in, although admittedly a little late. I will attempt to catch up before the end of the month. If you want to see her blog and prompts you can look here: http://www.theaccidentalgenealogist.com/2015/02/back-for-sixth-year-fearless-females.html

The prompt for March 2:

“Post a photo of one of your female ancestors. Who is in the photo? When was it taken? Why did you select this photo?”

Anna (Irwin) McKee. 1912.

Anna (Irwin) McKee. 1912.

This photo is of my 2nd-great-grandmother Anna Irwin taken in 1912. I chose this photo because it is one of only a handful of photos that come from my paternal grandmother’s family, so each is very precious to me. I have no photos of her husband, although I like to think he was taking this one. I love her outfit in this photo and the glimpse of the car and houses in the background.

Anna was born in 1858 in Ontario, Canada to an Irish immigrant who had moved to Dayton, Ohio as a child then hopped up to Canada long enough to get married and have several children before coming home to Dayton. By 1880 Anna had married Edwin McKee of Dayton. They lived in Dayton until Edwin’s death in 1925 and Anna continued to live with her unmarried daughter Lorena until her death in 1935 at age 77. Anna is buried at Woodland Cemetery in Dayton, Ohio with her husband and daughters.

